A Map of the Net Neutrality Resistance

A majority U.S. states are now actively protesting the repeal net neutrality, in one form or another.

(A larger version this map can be viewed here, or simply by clicking the map above.  This is based on all the information we’ve compiled, but if you have any updates or corrections, please let us know in the comments below or by emailing us at email protected])

More than 30 states are in some form protest against the FCC’s repeal net neutrality provisions.  And that doesn’t include a just-formed group mayors who are pledging not to do business with any company that doesn’t follow net neutrality provisions.

Here’s a breakdown every level net neutrality pushback, and the states that are employing them.  Please note that several states are using multiple methods to combat the FCC — for those, we’ve just used stripes to signify the multiple types.

Black = State law passed protecting net neutrality.

State: Washington.

Full law protecting net neutrality signed by Gov. Jay Inslee on March 5th.

Dark gray = State net neutrality bill passed both state House and Senate; awaiting governor approval

State: Oregon.

Currently awaiting signature state governor Kate Brown.

Light blue = State net neutrality bill introduced into legislature.

States: California, Vermont, New Jersey, Massachusetts, Nebraska, Colorado, Alaska, Georgia, Illinois, Kansas, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Tennessee, and Virginia have all introduced bills to protect net neutrality.

In some states, like California, those bills are highly likely to become law.

Orange = Executive Order signed by state governor preventing any company that isn’t compliant with net neutrality from doing business with state agencies.

States: Montana, New York, New Jersey, Vermont, and Hawaii governors have issued such orders.

Light Brown = State attorneys general suing the FCC over net neutrality repeals

A total 23 different state attorneys general have filed suit against Trump’s FCC to restore net neutrality, including the District Columbia.  They are: New York, California, Connecticut, Delaware, Hawaii, Illinois, Iowa, Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Mississippi, New Jersey, New Mexico, North Carolina, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, District Columbia.

Light Green = voters in 100+ municipalities have authorized the creation taxpayer-funded, municipal ISPs.

State: Colorado.

More than 114 municipalities in Colorado have voted to allow taxpayer-funded ISPs.  Some municipalities, like Fort Collins, CO, have successfully created their own networks with net neutrality and drastically lower pricing.

Red Star: City mayor has pledged not to do business with any company disobeying net neutrality (Mayors for Net Neutrality Coalition)

Already, 12 different mayors have joined this cause (more on that here).

Light Gray = no resistance (submission)


Also, thanks to Fight for the Future for helping us track specific state bills.  Please check back for continued updates.


Tags :

Thank you for tuning in, check out some of our daily updates and top stories. Also, make sure to follow us on our socials to get exclusive notifications and updates about your favorite artists. We appreciate your constant support for our blog.

About the Author

Show comments